Member Awards

Awards & Recognition

MAMRT Awards

Life Members are Members who have rendered service to the MAMRT and who have served in an exemplary manner as a radiation technologist. Full Practicing Members may apply to become a Life Member. Status as a Life Member is determined by the MAMRT Board of Directors and announced at the AGM

Current Life members are:

Desmond Butler RT
Paul J. Strelioff RT
Richard Walton RTR
Elvera Kirk RN, RTT, ACT
Richard Wharf RTR, ACR
Rita Eyer RTR, ACR
Peter Kubrakovich RTR, ACR, CMS
Stan Macario RTR

The Colin Maxwell Memorial Award
This Award was instituted as a memorial to Mr. Maxwell who died in 1987 at the age of 51. Mr. Maxwell was very active on both the MAMRT and CAMRT and his untimely passing was a great loss. This award is presented to the individual who best exemplifies Mr. Maxwell's educational and professional characteristics. Criteria to be considered for this award are that the individual:

  • is in good standing with the MAMRT
  • is supportive of all 4 disciplines and who emphasizes the importance of being a Medical Radiation Technologist.
  • has provided service to the MAMRT: (past or present) as a member of the Executive or ad hoc committees, volunteer with Career Symposiums or AGC's, and/or has been in regular attendance at AGM's and or GM's
  • has provided service to the CAMRT: (past or present) COE, board of Directors, Committees of the CAMRT, and/or has been in attendance at the national AGM.
  • has provided dedication to the profession as a technologist; concern for the patient, supportive of students and provides encouragement to technologist.

Recipients to date are:

1988 David Brownlee RTR
1989 Elvera Kirk ACT
1990 Tricia Hoare RTNM
1991 Richard Wharf ACR
1993 Rita Eyer ACT
1995 Chris Zeller ACT
1996 Gina De Vos RTNM
1997 Kristine Benedictson ACR
1998 Peter Kubrakovich ACR, CMS
1999 Margaret Stewart RTR, ACT
2000 Iris Williamson ACR, RDMS
2001 Lynn Couch ACR
2002 Helena Twerdun RTR
2008 Judi Lidstone, RTR, ACR, CAE
2009 Debbie Wrublowsky RTR
2010 Charlen Ferrier RTR
2011 Jerri Hlady RTR, ACR
2012 Monique Clarke RTR ACR
2013 Sandra Seidel RTR, RTMR, ACR
2014 Lorraine Gendre RTR
2015 Jill Sutherland RT

The Claude Bodle Memorial Lecture Award
This Award was instituted in 1991 to commemorate Mr. Claude Bodle, one of the founding members of our Association. He helped to organize the CSRT, later to become the CAMRT. He had the honour of being the only CSRT member to be president of both the Canadian and American Societies. This lectureship has been established to recognize an individual who has made a significant contribution to his/her profession and is invited to to deliver an address to members the following year. The individual may be a past or present member of the MAMRT.

Recipients to date are:

1992 Richard Wharf ACR
1993 Elvera Kirk ACT
1995 Richard Walton RTR
1996 Rita Eyer ACR
1997 Sheila Boutcher RTNM
1998 Peter Kubrakovich ACR, CMS
2000 Chris Zeller ACT
2001 Cora MacKay RT, L.MB
2002 Gina De Vos RTNM
2003 Leona Nichol RTR
2004 Margaret Stewart RTR, ACT
2005 Stan Macario RTR
2008 Katherine Suderman RTT, ACT, CAE, CHCM
2010 Corrine LeBlanc RTR, RTMR
2012 Brenda Badiuk RTNM, MAL (H)
2013 Keith Sutherland RTT, CTIC, ACT, CMD
2014 Stephanie Koval RTNM, CTIC (N)
2015 No Recipient

The Bill Doern Service Award
This Award was instituted at our 50th anniversary to honour Mr. Doern who was a founding member of the MSRT (now MAMRT). He was an honoured member both on a local level and national level in technical and administrative leadership. The award is meant to recognize excellence in the field of radiation technology but also to a technologist's contribution to the community at large.

Recipients to date are:

1980 Des Butler RTR
1981 Colin Maxwell ACR
1982 Cornelius Petkau RTR
1983 Beverly Glenday RTT
1984 Wilfred Allison RTR
1985 Fred J. Elcheshen RTR
1986 Richard Wharf ACR
1987 George Dyck RTNM
1988 Rita Eyer ACR
1989 Jeffrey Dovyak RTNM
1991 Sheila Boutcher RTNM
1993 Shirley Gagnon RTR
1995 Cora MacKay RT, L.MB
1996 Peter Kubrakovich ACR
1997 Donna Davies RTR
1998 Stan Macario RTR
1999 Jean Elcheshen ACR
2002 Ken Olchowy RTR
2008 Margaret Stewart RTR, RTT, ACT
2009 Debra Bridle RTR
2010 Carolyn Berard RTR
2011 Tamara Greenlay RTR
2012 Carmen Hepp RTR
2013 Christine Preachuk RTR
2014 Joyce Sorenson RTR,CTIC
2015 No Recipient

Association Management Software powered by in1touch